Scott Air Force Base   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

News > 375th Dental Squadron residents graduate
375th Dental Squadron residents graduate

Posted 8/3/2011   Updated 8/3/2011 Email story   Print story


by Samantha Crane
375th Air Mobility Wing

8/3/2011 - Scott Air Force Base, Ill. -- On July 27, six members of the Scott Advanced Education in General Dentistry, or AEGD, residency program graduated after spending 12 months with the 375th Dental Squadron.

"The purpose of the residency program is to provide a clinically oriented experience well beyond that of a dental school curriculum in the recognized dental specialties and related medical fields," said Col. Brent McClenny, 375th DS AEGD residency program director.

Accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association, the program accepts up to six residents annually. Residents are all recent dental school graduates who received an Air Force Health Professions Scholarship during their dental school training. Upon dental school graduation, scholarship recipients are obligated to serve as active duty Air Force dental officers based on the number of years they received scholarship money.

The teaching staff consists of board certified or board eligible specialists representing a range of expertise as Air Force officers, clinicians and educators.

"This highly qualified faculty is augmented by local and national consultants and guest lecturers from both the military and civilian communities to provide a broad-based and diversified educational experience," said McClenny.

Additionally, the program has a Training Affiliation Agreement with the Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville School of Dental Medicine which enables residents to rotate through Pediatric/Special Care Dentistry and to provide community service for underserved children in the East St. Louis area. Seven of the AEGD teaching staff serve as part-time faculty at SIUE.

After program completion, residency graduates are assigned to Air Force bases around the world where their additional specialty skills are needed.

The 2011 graduates and their base of assignment are: Capt. Tatiana P. Hoyos (Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, N.J.), Capt. Michael Jones (Yokota AB, Japan), Capt. Mark Leedy (Cannon AFB, N.M.), Capt. Kathryn Marks (Moody AFB, Ga.), Capt. Denver Palmer (Lajes Field, Azores), and Capt. Scott Shumway (Scott AFB).

The next class, consisting of six residents, will begin Aug. 8.

No comments yet.  
Add a comment

 Inside Scott AFB

ima cornerSearch

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act