An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Team Scott welcomes 23 new Honorary Commanders for Class of 2023

  • Published
  • By 375th Air Mobility Wing Public Affairs

SCOTT AIR FORCE BASE, Ill. – Team Scott has named 23 community leaders to be part of its Honorary Commanders program that will last for the next three years.

 The Honorary Commander program matches community leaders of influence with a military commander of a unit with the goal to educate and increase their knowledge and understanding of the Air Force and the installation.

“This provides us an opportunity to build strong, positive, and lasting relationships with local community leaders while exploring mutual areas of interest and increasing public understanding of our military missions, our assets, and our people,” said Col. J. Scot Heathman, 375th Air Mobility Wing commander.  

“We’re excited about our new Class of 2023, and thank the 28 members of the previous Class of 2020 for their participation and patience as we adjusted the program during the COVID pandemic. We made so many great friends and they will always be part of the Team Scott family.”

The Honorary Commanders will participate in unit changes of commands, promotions, retirements, or other unit activities and tours of various mission areas on base, as well as an opportunity to see other bases as the health protection conditions allow.

Congratulations to the Class of 2023 (listed alphabetically)

Sarah Arnosky, Senior Director, Arch to the Park
Steve Bannes, Director of Graduate Studies in Construction Management, Washington University
Matthew Brandt, Director of Finance, St. Elizabeth’s Hospital
Jack Burns, Alderman, Edwardsville
Karen Buzzard, City Clerk/Collector, Trenton
Walter Denton, City Administrator, O’Fallon
Dr. Terrence Duncan, Owner, J.J. Enterprises
Mayor Robert Eastern III, East St. Louis
Zandra Harvey, Owner, Cut-Rate Insurance Agency
Erika Kennett, Village Administrator, New Baden
Josh Kinney, Associate Pastor, Cornerstone Christian Church
Dennis Jenkerson, Fire Chief & Commissioner, St. Louis Fire Department
Mayor Cheryl Maguire, Wood River
Tyler Mathews, Executive Director, Venture Café
Dr. Dorothy Mosby, Assistant Principal, Alton High School
Mandy Pratt, Director of Development, USO of Missouri
Amy Richter, President and CEO, Hospice of Southern Illinois
Todd Roach, Alderman, O’Fallon/Director of Human Resources, Marmon Holdings, Inc.
Matt Smallheer, Board Member, St. Clair County
Mark Sutherland, CMO, Missouri Partnership
Steven Tomaszewksi, Corporate Director of Communication and Development Planning, Southern Illinois Healthcare and Touchette Regional Hospital
Mike Venso, Military & Firearms Curator, Missouri Historical Society & Soldiers Memorial Military Museum
Robert Wells, Ambassador, Center for Racial Harmony